Call for nominations: George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award ALCTS 2012 Preservation Awards

Nominations are being accepted for the 2012 Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award. ALCTS presents this award to honor individuals whose work represents the finest achievements in research, collaboration, creative work, leadership and service in preservation.

If you are interested in nominating a candidate, contact award jury chair Michele Stricker atmstricker [at] njstatelib__org.

The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Dec. 1, 2011.

The George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award was established by the Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) to honor the memory of George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg, early leaders in cooperative preservation programming and strong advocates for collaboration in the field of preservation.

The award acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and/or rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals. Recipients of the George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award demonstrate vision, endorse cooperation and advocate for the preservation of published and primary source resources that capture the richness of our cultural patrimony.  The award recognizes the leadership and initiative required to build collaborative networks designed to achieve specific preservation goals.  Any person or group is eligible for this award; membership in ALA is not required.    The Cunha/Swartzburg Award is sponsored by Hollinger Metal Edge and includes a $1,250 grant and citation.

Send nominations, including the name of the person or group being nominated; address, phone number and email address of nominee and nominating party; a formal statement of nomination, with rationale for the nomination; resume, vita or extensive narrative career outline upon which the award jury can base its determination; and letters of support and endorsement, to

Michele Stricker, chair
Cunha/Swartzburg Jury
mstricker [at] njstatelib__org

Visit the Cunha Swartzburg page for more information: